10
Jan
12

California Dreaming

For the first time in a long time, I woke up with a smile on my face.

Yawning, stretching, peering around to familiar yet unfamiliar scenery, my face felt weird… different. I was smiling. I was happy, BEFORE a cup of coffee.

Even though I don’t know where anything is, or how to get anywhere, this was truly my homecoming. This is a place that breathes new life back into me. It’s familiar, yet unexplored. Strange, yet so comfortable. New, but… home. Just… home.

As I lay my head down for sleep last night, I had to convince myself that when I wake up, it will all be the same. I’m not dreaming, I’m not fantasizing, I’m here.

This is my chance to get it right. To give myself what I deserve, and get rid of what I don’t. To be the person I’ve always wanted to be, and not bog myself down with misery and despair.

I am surrounding myself with people who I love, and love me back. I will not waste my time, my energy, or my life any longer. Being here doesn’t negate a perfect life, I’m not letting myself be naive, but it is a BETTER life. Only because I will make it one. I’ll have to work hard, but that has never scared me. I’ll have to keep myself in check, but I’m a big girl now, I should be able to handle that.

I miss those I love back home, but I hope they know, me being here doesn’t make me love them any less. I’ve found my happy. It was in Southern California all along…

 

Authors Note: Everyone who reads this blog knows the obvious. I’m not so good at keeping up with things I start. Once again, I’m going to attempt to breathe life back into this blog. I’m hoping someone will help me. You know, cattle prod me or something. Shutting up now…

0 Responses to “California Dreaming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact Me!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

That fancy banner up thar was made by BritishMindslave. Check out her art here on DeviantArt
January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories

+


