16
Feb
10

R.I.P Grammy Margaret

In honor of my grandfathers mother, I’d like to post the lyrics of what was her and my Papa’s favorite George Jones song. They LOVED George Jones, and his 8-tracks (music listening devices our ancestors used) were always playing when they were together.

This song still, to this day, brings tears to my eyes, and always will. It is truly one of the saddest, most heartbreaking, yet beautiful songs I have ever heard.

Papa, Grammy Margaret, I will never stop loving you.

“He Stopped Loving Her Today” by George Jones

He said I’ll love you ’til I die
She told him you’ll forget in time
As the years went slowly by
She still preyed upon his mind

He kept her picture on his wall
Went half crazy now and then
He still loved her through it all
Hoping she’d come back again

Kept some letters by his bed
Dated 1962
He had underlined in red
Every single I love you

I went to see him just today
Oh but I didn’t see no tears
All dressed up to go away
First time I’d seen him smile in years

(Chorus)
He stopped loving her today
They placed a wreath upon his door
And soon they’ll carry him away
He stopped loving her today

(Spoken)
You know she came to see him one last time
Oh and we all wondered if she would
And it kept running through my mind
This time he’s over her for good

(Repeat Chorus)

This song is featured on several George Jones albums, but this is one of my grandparents favorites: The Essential George Jones

0 Responses to “R.I.P Grammy Margaret”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact Me!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

That fancy banner up thar was made by BritishMindslave. Check out her art here on DeviantArt
February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives

Categories

+


